Nimblex Strikes Again
LINK ===== https://shurll.com/2t7CPS
The sleek and streamlined arrowhead-shaped A-Wing is designed for hit-and-run raids and lightning surgical strikes. It is also used for intelligence gathering missions. Known as a RZ-1, the twin-engined starfighter is armed with a pair of pivoting laser cannons and concussion missiles.
Later on, during the events of the movie, the question arises whether they should send out fighters or not. One of the higher ups says no, we need to give the turbo laser operators some fun/practice and it wasn't fair that the fighters get all the fun. Then when they realize that the turbo lasers are crap against fighters it's too late.
The port was only two meters wide, approximately the size of a womp rat, and lay at the end of a large trench in the hull of the battle station, and was ray shielded against energy weapons such as laser cannons.
Since the Death Star was on the attack, a wise commander would have a heavy fighter screen already launched. But the Empire, thinking conventionally, was quite arrogant about their new station and the Rebel's ability to defeat it exemplified by Motti "any attack made by the Rebels against this station would be a useless gesture, no matter what technical data they've obtained" and Tarkin "Evacuate? In out moment of triumph? I think you overestimate their chances!" Surprise is expressed that the Rebels would even attempt to attack the station using starfighters. "We count thirty Rebel ships, Lord Vader. But they're so small they're evading our turbo-lasers!"
Remy's mutant power also takes smooth-talking to a whole new level: he has an ability called hypnotic charm. This allows him to captivate someone and temporarily influence them to agree with him or follow along with what he's saying. Think a light version of the Jedi mind trick - but with a Cajun accent - and that's the gist of it. Combined with his expert skills as a thief, this ability has come in handy quite a few times. Channing Tatum has implied the hypnotic charm ability will play a role in the movie, too. Lastly, Gambit's also heavily defended against mental attacks, and this has given the likes of Psylocke and even Professor X difficultly when searching his mind.
In The Uncanny X-Men #273, Gambit and Wolverine go toe-to-toe in the Danger Room. After several minutes of dodging each other, Gambit used the Danger Room to his advantage and made Lady Deathstrike appear. When Wolverine's attention was diverted, Gambit took him down with a few bo staff hits. But the physical strikes didn't hurt Wolverine nearly as much as the verbal hit did. ("Bang. You dead," Gambit said as he stood over his defeated ally.) Gambit once again bested Wolverine by using outside sources to trick Wolverine in Contest of Champions II. To be fair, Wolverine has defeated Gambit, too, but seeing as this is Gambit's list, we won't embarrass him by going into details.
Remy has done some shady things in the past, but time and time again, he's proven to be a good guy. However, after becoming Death, he went back to siding with the Marauders. When the X-Men event Messiah CompleX began - which places the X-Men, Mr. Sinister's forces, and others at odds as all they race to claim a newborn mutant - Gambit stays with the villains. Rogue is in a coma, and Mystique believes that making Rogue touch the baby - which is named Hope - will heal her, but kill the baby. When Gambit discovers the details of Mystique's plan, he is shocked and doesn't agree with it, firmly believing that Rogue would rather remain in a coma than take the life of an innocent child.
Mystique is still able to fulfill her plan (as well as betray Mr. Sinister) and, thankfully, Hope was perfectly fine and helps Rogue wake from her coma. After all that Remy went through in the event - including getting stabbed by Wolverine - his story concludes with Rogue walking away and saying, "If you still care for me, Remy... don't follow me." Seeing as he would do anything for her, he respects her wish. He'd later go on to help Professor X and once again become a member of the X-Men.
PDF SALES: ADB, Inc. continues its relationship with Steve Jackson Games and their Warehouse 23. We chose Warehouse 23 because they have a philosophy that agrees with ours -- our customers are honest and honorable and wouldn't aid people who want to steal our products. Furthermore, we know from experience how devastating a computer crash can be and want our customers to know that they don't have to worry about the loss of their e-products bought through Warehouse 23. What do we have there? We have created a new page that allows easy access to our PDFs for sale on Warehouse 23. From here you can see what we currently have posted and have links to those products. RECENTLY RELEASED ON Warehouse 23 Starmada Nova Log Starmada Admiral Log SFB Module Y2 SSD Book (B/W) SFB Module Y2 SSD Book (Color) JagdPanther #14 SFB Module X1R SSD Book (B/W) SFB Module X1R SSD Book (Color) Federation & Empire Compendium Part 3 JagdPanther #13 Captain's Log #39 Captain's Log #39 Supplemental File Captain's Log #39 Color SSDs SFB Module R12 SSD Book (B/W) SFB Module R12 SSD Book (Color) SFB Module R11 SSD Book (B/W) SFB Module R11 SSD Book (Color) RECENTLY RELEASED ON DRIVETHRU RPG and WARGAME VAULT Captain's Log #13 (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) FC: Federation Ship Card Pack #2 (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) Starmada Nova Log (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) Starmada Admiral Log (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) SFB Module Y2 SSD Book (B/W) (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) SFB Module Y2 SSD Book (Color) (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) Star Fleet Times #1-5 (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) JagdPanther #14 (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) Federation Commander Briefing #2 Ship Pack F (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) Star Fleet Battles: Playtest Module E2 (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) Captain's Log #12 (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) SFB Module X1R (B/W) (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) SFB Module X1R (Color) (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) Captain's Log #11 (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) Federation & Empire Compendium Part 3 (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) JagdPanther #13 (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) Federation Commander Briefing #2 Ship Pack E (DriveThru RPG or Wargame Vault) Star Fleet Fiction THE NATURE OF THE BEAST by Randy O. Green PART 6 OF 7 "Ross, get Launch Control on a channel and have them launch the intelligence fighter. Orders are to launch its probe drones when we do. Make sure the fighter gets no closer than 80,000 kilometers. We'll pick it up on the way out if we can. Otherwise, it will need to rendezvous with us at Checkpoint Alpha." The commands were crisp. "Lieutenant Garner, turn into the Manta. Launch our own probe drones simultaneously with the fighter. Navigation, begin cycling reserve warp through the battery grid. One more pass, gentle beings." Around Folomar, the Bridge bustled with activity. The crew did not show any misgivings at being ordered to engage the monster again. For that, their Captain was proud. We should get plenty of information this time, even if we are low on intelligence assets. Then we can leave the thing in peace, or kill it if it forces us to do so. At least it shouldn't have any more surprises to throw at us. If it did, it would have done so in the first pass. He hesitated. He was certain that his reasoning was correct. The creature had not been especially deadly on the first approach until they had gotten close. If they avoided a point-blank approach, they should be able to reinforce the shields enough to keep them from being breached again. This thing is just a beast, he told himself, it fights by instinct. It won't be clever enough to hide some of its weapons for a later attack. They just had to get close enough for the sensors to get reliable data. A quick run in, keep the fighter outside of the monster's close-in kill zone, get the information we need, and get back out. Recover the fighter and analyze the data as we run ahead of it again. It won't be easy, but it's a mission we can do. He took a deep breath, staring at the view screen. The creature, through the magic of the Powell's electronics, was steadily growing in size as they began to near it once again. They had taken all of the standard precautions just as they had the first time, and they had survived the encounter. It should be no different this time. Yet he could not shake the feeling that all was not going as planned. Why do I still have this cold, twisting, knot of dread between my shoulder blades? This thing is just a beast, right? (Continue reading here) Ask Admiral Vanaxilth MOVEMENT AND MANEUVER Xander Fulton asks: When a scenario starts, ships are given position and speed, which determines what they can accelerate to during Energy Allocation of Turn #1, but what of the turn and sideslip modes? Do ships start a scenario assuming they had previously been going "straight," so they can turn right away? Or do the turn and sideslip modes start at "0"? ANSWER: Paul Pease replies: Rule (S1.2) . . . "Ships placed on the map at the start of the scenario, or which enter the map during the scenario are assumed to have fulfilled their turn and sideslip modes provided it is possible for them to have done so. . ." There is an exception in that units at Speed Zero have not fulfilled either and scenarios may specify exceptions. Sean Hunt asks: The note at the end of (XC1.313-2) seems wrong, maybe. Would we not still use this rule for determining some aspects of movement, even if (XC1.32) plotted movement is being used? For instance, if a non-nimble X-ship was scheduled to move the same impulse as a nimble non-X ship, then presumably the X-ship would have to move before seeing the non-X ship's movement, even though it was pre-plotted. ANSWER: Kommodore Ketrick replies: No, because by the definition of pre-plotted movement the nimble ship has given up its advantage in the Order of Precedence. It does not get to see all of the non-nimble ships that are using plotted movement move and then make its own movement based on that movement. So only the X-ships use non-plotted movement as stated. Troy Williams asks: Is it legal to allocate energy to, say, a 14/28 speed plot but choose not to accelerate when the change is due (tactical situation changed) and remain at Speed 14 or conduct the change at a later impulse? I am pretty sure you cannot do this but cannot find the rule specifically saying this. ANSWER: Kommodore Ketrick replies: Unplotted mid-turn decelerations are specifically forbidden. Note the following rule: (C12.32) DECELERATION (Second paragraph) specifically says: "Speed changes to reduce speed must always be plotted during Energy Allocation (C12.12). They can never be unplotted." Delaying an acceleration is by definition a deceleration. There is no legal means (in Star Fleet Battles; Federation Commander does provide a means to use power to cancel movement) to cancel (or delay) a plotted acceleration short of Emergency Deceleration or colliding with a tournament barrier, or Energy Balance Due to Damage, or breakdown as a result of a failed high energy turn, or impact with a web of sufficient strength at sufficient speed. Other rules may also apply. (C1.34) ALWAYS PLOTTED: (Second sentence of the second paragraph): "All deceleration must be plotted (including braking energy to reverse direction), except an emergency deceleration, which is never plotted." (C12.22) PLOT REQUIRED (second sentence): "Alternatively, reserve warp power could be used to accelerate (but not to decelerate) the ship; see (C12.24)." (C12.23) DAMAGE (this rule allows you to cancel an acceleration, but only if you are using Energy Balance due to Damage and in response to damage, not simply voluntarily for tactical convenience): "If Energy Balance Due to Damage (D22.0) is in use, a player can cancel or reduce future accelerations to fulfill energy balance requirements. Cancellations must be announced." Rule (C12.244) allows for an unplotted deceleration, but only if it is following an unplotted acceleration in the middle of a turn, e.g., you use reserve power to accelerate to a faster speed between Impulse #8 and #16, the deceleration back to your plotted speed on Impulse #16 is technically an unplotted deceleration. The rules do not allow you to cancel or delay a pre-plotted acceleration. (End of Admiral Vanaxilth) F&E Q&A COMBAT Q: Can the ISC use the echelon formation (324.0) in a pursuit battle (307.0) if it meets all the requirements of (324.1) and (307.2) as the pursuer or (307.3) as the pursued? A: No. See (324.15): Echelon formations cannot be used by a Battle Force conducting a pursuit. They can be used by a Battle Force being pursued. Q: I have a monitor in a hex with a planet, which also contains a tug upgrading a mobile base. According to (519.22) the monitor is treated as a base in regards to the approach of the planet. That being the case, I have two "bases" at the planet: the mobile base being upgraded, and the monitor. Can the monitor be the "focus of the attack" and make the tug upgrading the mobile base the "excluded" base? A: Sorry, but no. The rules define the monitor and mobile base as "colocated" so they're both in the battle. The situation here is that the monitor is a ship acting like a base and (with no positional stabilizers) will be as close to the base as it can be. Q: What if a starbase with F14+2 reacts its 12 fighters out of the hex? Does that mean that it can put up an eight-point independent squadron (502.95) in two rounds of combat? A: This represents two squadrons of fighters, one of eight factors and one of six factors. As long as the damage is taken on the six-factor squadron first, the eight-factor squadron remains. See (501.91), (501.61), and (302.452) for more information. Q: For the purposes of the die roll to determine if pursuit is successful under (307.21), does the missing escort for a tug with carrier pods count? The missing escort obviously counts against the number of ships. I note that carriers with missing escorts (307.22) count as the actual number of ships for the die roll but as the required number of ships for formation of the pursuit force. A: Correct, it counts against the size of the force but does not count for the die roll. (In other words, send some other ship.) This applies to any carrier rolling for pursuit. If the carrier is missing escorts below the number required by (515.2), the group takes up that minimum number of slots (that's how the command software works, and it keeps players from using high-density unescorted carriers), but the "group" only counts the actual number of ships when checking for successful pursuit under (307.21). During pursuit, the escort spread out to expand the search area but then rejoin the carrier when the enemy is contacted. Q: Can a single rescue tug (537.2) rescue a ship in combat, and then keep a ship out of pursuit during the pursuit battle? Or is each of those items a different rescue tug action? A: Yes, if assigned properly one tug can attempt to save a unit in battle and then later save the same ship or another ship in pursuit. The rescue tug can attempt to save the same or another unit from the pursuit battle. Remember, it is the role that the tug is assigned and not about the unit(s) it saves. Q: If the enemy has more ships at your capital than your whole fleet and you retreat from an adjacent hex with a smaller fleet, does that mean that the smaller fleet can't enter its own capital because it is "outnumbered" and retreat priority 2 fails? A: Yes, this is how retreat priority 2 works (302.732). Q: When determining if (310.0) Small Scale Combat can be used with a force of a carrier without escorts and two other ships which have not been previously designated as ad hoc escorts under (515.34) and (515.35), would it disqualify such a battle force from using (310.0)? A: Players must follow rule (310.11). Small Scale Combat qualification is done in Sequence of Play Step 5-3B; ad hocs are added next in Step 5-3C, so it is not possible to use the ad hoc rule to lower one's ComPot to qualify for SSC. The carrier may go without escorts as long as there are available command slots for the missing escorts. Q: Is an FRD a valid target for infiltration (537.12)? A: The rule specifically uses the term "ships" so only ships can be infiltrated. Infiltration cannot be used against non-ship units such as the following (this list is not exhaustive): FRD/FRX/PRD, a fighter factor, a PF, a CPF, an unassigned pod, a fighter depot, a diplomat, a prime team, a Marine major general, an admiral, a SWAC, a cloaked decoy, an engineer unit, a shipyard, a reserve counter, or a repair deport. Q: About special raids... A: Sound of whistling. (The staff is working to fix these.) Q: How do Tholian Pinwheels (322.31) affect retreats via (302.721)? May the rest of an allied force retreat behind the cover of a surviving pinwheel? A: So long as a pinwheel remains un-dissolved at the end of any combat round, it can cover the retreat of allied ships as outlined in (302.741). (End of F&E Q&A) ASK AUNT JEAN Dear Aunt Jean, 2b1af7f3a8